2019 Nobel Prize in chemistry awarded to Goodenough, Whittingham and Yoshino for rechargeable lithium-ion batteries


The 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino for their “development of lithium ion batteries.”

The Secretary General of The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Göran K. Hansson, announced the winners:

The Nobel Committee said the scientists tamed the element lithium, a soft, silver-white metal that was formed in the first few minutes after the Big Bang. Pure lithium is so reactive that it must be kept in oil. The element fizzes and belches gas when it touches water. That reactivity, packed into a small volume, gives lithium its “enormously attractive” properties.

The trio will share the prize prize of $910,000 for their work on the Lithium ion batteries Lithium-ion batteries are used in everything from mobile phones to laptops and electric vehicles.

Their development was also key in allowing moves away from fossil fuels, as the batteries enabled the storage of energy from solar, wind and other renewable sources.

The Nobel Prize for Literature will be announced on Thursday, the Nobel Prize for Peace will be out on Friday, while the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences (popularly known as Nobel Prize in Economics) will be announced next Monday, October 14.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *